Daily Archives: October 25, 2012

Sticky Granola Bars & Planko X Sweat

You know when you eat something that is deliciously amazing and then realize that it was made with incredibly dirt nasty ingredients and you get sick to your stomach?

I lived that moment today when I snacked on a granola bar before working out. I wasn’t all too hungry but I wanted something small with staying power to get me through my workout before lunch.

I reached for the Cascadian Farm organic Chocolate Chip Chewy Granola Bar that Jen grabbed for me this past weekend and went to town.

The first bite and I was in love! It should be renamed to the Incredible Chewy Granola Bar, since that’s exactly what it was. There were so many chocolate chips jammed into the sample sized bar! Pure heaven.

Then I turned the bar over on accident and was disgusted.

Look at all that dried syrup, oil and sugar just screaming for attention.

Gross!

Now I know why it was stuck in the wrapper and then stuck to my hand.

So I had a little fun in mocking how unhealthy the granola bar is.

 

Before I saw the bottom of the bar, I had convinced myself upon the first bite that I’d be buying a box of these. Now, I don’t think that’ll be happening. Just because a product is labeled “organic” does not by any means consider it healthy.

It was sooooo good though! Almost as good as that fro-yo. 😉

My afternoon run left me feeling amazing. The 2 miles flew by and the only time I had to stop was to wipe the sweat out of my eyes, off my forehead, cheeks, and mouth. Ladies and gentlemen, I sweat pretty.

I finished my run with 15 minutes on the vertical elliptical before heading back to shower and enjoy my garbage scramble. I haven’t enjoyed one of those lovely scrambles in an earth shattering few days so it enjoyed a nice welcome back fiesta!

My weekend has begun! Since I’ll have a busy weekend, I switched today and tomorrows P90X workouts and just completed Plank X.

Check out that P90X sweat. Ya baby!!

Time to go do laundry, hit the mall to grab some suspenders and glasses for this weekend, and pack my little heart away!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Yo-Flava Fro-Yo

Last nights fro-yo date with Linds was perfect! We were both hungry-hungry little hippos and were in dire need of a fro-yo attack to the face.

Our cravings brought us to Yo-Flava, a new Fro-Yo shop located in an odd spot in Manchester. We were the only customers getting our fro-yo on, and that made me happy. I’m not a fan of going to shops where all the seats are taken, so it was a nice relaxing date.

After testing samples of Red Velvet and Sea Salted Caramel Pretzel, I was ready to fill my bowl. I settled on half Cookies & Cream and half Sea Salted Caramel Pretzel, with a dollop of Cinnamon Roll, which was decent. The Sea Salted Caramel Pretzel was easily the yummiest flavor I’ve ever tried. Give me more!!

So many yummy toppings! Although the owners misspelled a word. They’re called Rainbow JIMMIES, not sprinkles. Silly people! 😉

Do you call them Jimmies or Sprinkles?

This topic always ends up as heated debate with me. I won’t stop until I win. They’re Jimmies, don’t even try me!

I always have trouble trying to pair toppings with my fro-yo flavors, and last night I tried to make healthy choices, but I don’t think my toppings paired well. 😦

I went for kiwi, raspberries, shredded coconut, a little granola, and chocolate covered pretzels to eat as an appetizer. Luckily I didn’t have a lot of toppings so I was able to get to the fro-yo quickly.

My dinner disappeared WAY too quickly, but was so worth it. My bowl was nearly $6. What a fat ass!

When I got home, I prepared meals for today and started deciding on which tops I wanted to pack for my long weekend in Harrisburg, PA. I’ll be visiting my brother and future sister-in law, as they’re hosting both sets of parents for a fun-filled family weekend.

I pack my tops on hangers because I’m lazy my theory is that if I don’t wear it, all I have to do is throw it back in my closet. I delete the step of grabbing a hangar and rehanging. So clever. 😉

My two essentials for tops are always a fitted white v-neck t-shirt and a plaid shirt. Holy plaid overload above!

Morning Workout

I crashed extremely early last night after having an awkward conversation on Voxer. I hate that thing! If you don’t know what Voxer is, it’s basically a walkie-talkie that is a morph between a phone call and a text. I always have awkward silences while I try to think of what to say next. That, or whatever I say ends up being so stupid. Next time I need to write down what I’m going to say and read it word for word. Just like during a college presentation.

I awoke feeling energized and ready to tackle my run, plus, I think having a day off from P90X helped my body recover as well.

  • 4 mile run
  • 3 sets of 15 stair push-ups
  • 30 second plank holds, regular and both sides
  • 40 mountain climbers
  • Stretching

I wish Yo-Flava opened before 11:30, otherwise I saw a big bowl of Sea Salted Caramel Pretzel as my hearty breakfast. I was able to enjoy a breakfast that was almost just as delicious… My Raspberry Mango Overnight Oats! Intervention, please. Now.

Really wish there was fro-yo on that spoon!

Alright guys, since today is my Friday, sorry suckas, I have some work to take care of. Catch ya later!

Tagged , , , ,
Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness