Daily Archives: October 8, 2012

Happy Smiles & Chia Pets

To all of you who are reading this in the comforts of your home, on your oversized couch or in your warm bed, screw you. I’m also sending out a “loving” screw you if you got more than 5 hours of sleep last night. I typically enjoy Mondays, mainly because they fly by for me, as I skip my lunch in lieu of leaving an hour early at 4 to take Eve’s spinning class. This Monday is different. It’s Columbus Day, and this is the first time I don’t have it off from work. Damn engineering firm and their damn responsibilities!

So while everyone’s just waking up, I’ve been up since 5:30, running on about 3 hours less than normal, and working on a holiday but you know what, I’m actually pretty damn happy. The lack of sleep was worth it. I’m typically a happy go lucky girl, but lately I’ve added an extra dose of happy to my life this past week. Must be something in the air. There must be some sort of warmth making its way from Florida up to New Hampshire. Yeah, must be.

Morning Workout

  • 3.5 mile run
  •  4 sets of 15 stair push-ups
  • 1-2-3 Ab Workout

20121008-110138.jpg

Breakfast was fueled by my addiction to Raspberry Mango Overnight Oats, and I was excited when Jen popped into my office this morning to show me her first attempt at the oats. Looks like someone else has joined the OnO wagon! I brought her a baggie of my chia seeds so that she could try them out before buying an expensive bag at the co-op, and her comment was, “I could grow a chia pet with these.” Please Jen, don’t.

Did I ever tell you guys the first time I went in search of chia seeds, the lady at the supermarket referred me to the flower display and then told me that Kmart had a good selection of Chia Pets. That’s my life.

Whether you have the holiday Monday off or are stuck at work, I hope you all have a happy day!

I’d talk longer but I have to go check on Jen and make sure she’s not creating a chia pet lab in her office!

Tagged , , ,

Girls Weekend: Shopping Spree & Boston Adventures

What a fun weekend! I spent it with two of my favorite girlfriends, where we shopped and explored Boston.

Saturday

On Saturday I hit the gym where I completed a 4 mile run, 25 minutes on the unknown cardio machine, 15 on the elliptical, and 10 minutes of spinning. My legs were so tight that the spinning was just me pedaling at a sprint pace to loosen the tight muscles.

After my workout, I cleaned up, ended my 6 years and 10 month relationship with Planet Fitness, my old gym, and then went over to Lindsay’s for a girls afternoon. After playing with Jackson, her little kitten for a bit and making him do flips in the air, Linds showed me the Halloween outfits she bought for him.

Jackson does NOT enjoy being a monkey. We thought he made an adorable monkey. 🙂 After kitty time, we attacked Marshall’s, and boy did we go a little crazy!

We didn’t do THAT bad of damage, well, Linds left with $80 of product and I left with $112, but I had 2 big-ticket items, including new boots and a new purse!

Loving my boots and the red down the side. The bag and boots were both Steve Madden. I’m clearly a Madden Girl!

Absolutely loving the fall colors! I also snagged a new sports bra and cute top for $10 each off the clearance rack, oh and a bag of chocolate covered espresso beans which were my dinner last night…. yum!

Sunday

Today, my cousin Nikki and her neighbor ventured down to Boston for a day full of shopping and eating.

Before Boston, I woke up early and hit the gym for a good workout, consisting of a 5 mile run and 40 minutes on the unknown cardio machine, followed by a few weights.

In Boston, I managed to drop my favorite sunglasses, step on them, and lose an eye.

Sad pout but beautiful purse! Later in the day I managed to fix my sunglasses so I can be back to my stylish ways. We wandered around Faneuil Hall for a bit, grabbed lunch at Cheers, which for me consisted of a veggie burger and fries, which were both a major disappointment.

I found this amazing hat that I’m kicking myself for not buying.

After a full day of bouncing in and out of shops and the girls leaving with bags full of Celtics girl, we headed back to our car after the rain began to fall.

The weekend was amazing and I’m so glad I got to spend it with my loves.

I hope you all had a great October weekend as well! I know I’m very excited to eat healthy again this week. All that chocolate and greasy food is weighing me down!

Tagged , , , , ,
Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness