Daily Archives: October 29, 2012

It’s Always the Girl Storms That Are a Problem

Hurricane Sandy has made her presence known and I’m hoping she leaves soon! She’s causing a little bit of drama and I want her out.

The head of Marketing released our department around 3:30, and when we made it across the street, the parking lot was deserted. Clearly everyone left earlier in the day. Gold’s Gym also closed early, making the parking lot appear even more of a ghost town.

Jen (in purple) and I were smart in taking an early lunch and going to Gold’s around 12:30 before they closed. I got in a cardio session that included a 1.5 mile run and 20 minutes on the elliptical. Never enough time!

I was able to catch up on Hurricane Sandy while ellipticizing. This bitch is a nasty one!

After leaving work, I literally threw myself in my car to get cover, and upon starting my engine, I was welcomed with the red gas light. Cool. Almost out of gas in the middle of a hurricane. No big deal at all.

I made it home and was lucky enough to be able to turn onto my street before the road was closed. It’s hard to tell, but under the 3rd dot on the lines on the left hand side of the road, there’s a tree down. Trees are always falling left and right on that street, it’s scary.

I was told prior to coming home not to park in the garage in case we lose power in the middle of the night, so instead, I parked in front of the door. Well, apparently the wind didn’t want to play basketball and knocked our hoop down.

With 3 feet to spare, my sweet Jax was spared from injury. Talk about a heart attack car!

It’s been a good night and so far we still have power. Knock on wood. I completed Chest & Back of P90X, prepared spaghetti squash for the week and am now about to cozy up with Gone Girl and my favorite Yankee Candle, Meadow Showers.

Hope everyone on the East Coast is staying safe. If you’re out of Sandy’s path, be thankful! The winds are picking up pretty heavily. If you see a post tomorrow you’ll know Sandy didn’t blow me away. 🙂

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Go Away Hurricane Sandy

While I love visiting Ryan & Chelsey in Harrisburg, it’s always nice to be back home, falling asleep in my big, fluffy bed with my little Jake-a-bean snuggled by my feet. If they didn’t live 7-8 hours away I would try and get down there once a month, but it’s really only doable with a long weekend. While they’ve hinted at me taking their spare room, Harrisburg is very much so on my list of potential relocation areas that I’m consider in a handful of months.

20121029-114046.jpg

They live one block from the river front, which means daily runs by the river. Yes please! The downtown is cute and not overwhelming, and they have awesome friends who I’ve been able to meet every time I visit. It’d also make it a lot easier helping the bride-to-be plan her wedding!

The downside is that they still get snow and cold weather. Talk about a total con!

I was SO happy to be reunited with my bowl of overnight oats this morning. I went TWO days without the oatty goodness. TWO days. Cold turkey. I was going crazy without my precious oats, and demolished the bowl in seconds flat.

Such a good way to start my Monday off. Oh speaking of having a good Monday, we are officially in a State of Emergency as Hurricane Sandy makes her way up state. That’s cool, really cool. New Jersey and New York are currently getting hit extremely hard. Check out the pictures courtesy of the Today Show.

20121029-114152.jpg

20121029-114215.jpg

I hope everyone is staying safe! You never know if a storm like this will actually play out to its full potential. I certainly hope it’s a fluke and we don’t flood or lose power!

I’ve run in a Tsunami warning before, so this little Sandy girl can’t stop me.

Morning Workout

• 4 mile run
• 1:21 plank hold
• 50 mountain climbers
• 4 sets of 15 stair push-ups
• 50 crunches & 50 side-to-side crunches
• 50 scissors
• Stretching

Today was the time trial day of Tina’s 4-Week Plank Challenge, and if you recall, Friday’s time was 1:17, which means I held it for an additional 4 seconds. 4 seconds is 4 seconds.

The Governor has urged all companies to send workers home early and to be off of the roads by 3pm at the latest. I’m hoping that my boss lets us out early, so I’m about to take my lunch around 12:30 instead of 1:30. After a weekend of unhealthy eating and minimal cardio, I’m craving a sweaty cardio session.

Tagged , , , ,
Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness