Daily Archives: September 24, 2012

A Good Monday and Ready to Take Charge!

Happy Monday, and yes I mean happy! Due to promptly falling asleep at 9:20 last night, after reading a whopping 2 pages in my new book, yes I said 2, I woke up on the right side of the bed, which technically was the left. Have you ever noticed that you prefer to sleep on one side of the bed, whether it’s the bed at your place, your boyfriends or on a guest bed? I always chose the left side of the bed with my ex-boyfriends, even when that meant I was stuck against the wall and had no arm dangling room. Men are just awful at setting up a room. Really.. a bed against the wall? Maybe that’s why those relationships didn’t last… Let’s just go with that. 😉

My upper body is still recovering from the ridiculousness I put it through this weekend (Wii boxing, golfing, rowing, picking up nachos loaded with 20 lbs. of bbq chicken and cheese), that it was still sore when I swung my arms around this morning before working out. I ended up getting a nice run in, although my strength workout was limited post-run. Instead, I focused more on stretching and trying to loosen up my old bones.

Morning Workout

  • 3.5 mile run
  • 1 minute plank hold
  • 2 sets of 20 mountain climbers – the second set was awful! I think it’s due to a “fun” weekend
  • 50 crunches and 50 side-to-side crunches
  • 100 jump rope
  • Stretching

Yesterday during brunch with Mike, he commented on how tiny my stomach looked. Uhhhhh, he CLEARLY hasn’t seen me in a while as I’ve actually put roughly 4.5 pounds onto my frame. Being my gay best friend, he is doubly honest and blunt. A gay man will tell you how it is, but a gay best friend, will tell you also tell you he can see your split ends. Thanks captain obvious. Since making my pact with you guys about holding myself accountable if I snack during the middle of the night, I have yet to do that!

It’s time for me to suck it up and get on the “Before and After” band wagon. Doing that will only motivate me more to stick to healthy choices in the kitchen, and since I don’t want to embark on this journey and not have any progress to show for it, it’s time to get dirty!

I’m going to take pictures tomorrow and will most likely cut my morning workout short so I have enough time to take pictures. You lovelies will get my “clothed” before pictures, while I’ll keep a set of the bra and shorts pictures for my eyes only, at least until I’m comfortable to show what down undah looks like. Warning: war zone. Okay, okay, it’s not bad, but it’s not “hot damn” status either.

Before the gym I enjoyed a Chobani Strawberry Banana yogurt for the first time in at least a week and a half, and holy moly was it an amazing reunion!

My afternoon workout almost included me eating shit on the treadmill. Mind you this all went down while I was sanitizing the treadmill. Yeah, wasn’t even working out. I was trying to clean my sweat off the very front of the treadmill so I was crouching down while holding onto the hand grip. I thought I was pushing all the treadmills forward, but in reality the belt was moving backwards with me on it! I quickly aborted the situation and got the hell out of the ladies gym before I made an even bigger fool out of myself. I went and did additional cardio in the regular gym before heading back to work and being productive.

Afternoon Workout

  • 2 mile run
  • 15 minutes elliptical
  • 2 minutes rowing – if you recall my bitching from the beginning of my post, you’ll realized why I stopped

My boss has had her daughter’s Yankee Candle Fundraising catalogue sitting in the work kitchen for the past few days and I finally stopped and flipped through it. I found about 8 pieces that I want to buy, only 1 item being a candle, the rest being the most adorable decorative holders!

How cute are these, especially the cookie jar candle holder! Is it too early to start decorating for Christmas yet? As much as I hate the cold and snow, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the time from the middle of November until New Years when the holiday spirit is in full blast.

Time to go doodle Christmas trees and listen to my Christmas radio station on Pandora… and you think I’m kidding.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Happy Fall Weekend!

This weekend marked the official beginning of the fall, and it was basically as cliché as it gets. Wake up with a sore throat, head downstairs in my sweats where I cuddle up in a blanket, watch a chick flick while waiting for Ryan and Chelsey to wake up. It brings me back to our college years when we would go home for a weekend together. Aside from the sore throat, I loved it.

Plus, I got to snuggle up with my little boy for a bit.

Lazy Fall mornings are my favorite, although this one wasn’t as lazy as I was hoping. I had a nonstop weekend, with not much relaxing mixed in.

Saturday I had a date with Lindsay’s co-worker around 3:30, so I was able to get a great workout in prior to the date, along with picking up half of Ryan’s birthday gift.

Saturday Workout

  • 4.5 mile run
  • 2 sets of 13 standing side dumbbell crunches
  • 2 sets of 13 skiing dumbbell squats
  • 2 sets of 13 deadlift to upward row
  • 20 minutes elliptical
  • 10 minutes stairmaster

After that, I met up with the dating prospect and he bought us each a large bucket of balls to hit. Each. I SAID EACH! Holy freakin hell, I never thought the bucket would end. I had a lot of fun with my prospect and plan on seeing him again. Plus, he’s 6’2 with muscles. HELLLLLLLO!

After sweating my face off, I cleaned up quickly and met up with Lindsay and her new beau for a drink, well, they drank beers and I guzzled water. Then we demolished an order of barbecue chicken nachos. Oooops. The cheesy goodness was calling to me. I wish I had snapped a photo but I really didn’t want to freak the new beau out.

Sunday I woke up too early for a fall morning and went for a 4 mile run that felt too good to be true for a post nacho fest, before heading down to Boston to visit my bestie, Mike.

Mike and I grabbed brunch at Stephi’s on Tremont, where I ordered the Fruit Salad that came with homemade granola and honey yogurt. The meal was pretty good, maybe worth a B, but there could have been more yogurt and granola.

After brunch, we left the South End and enjoyed a little shopping on Newbury Street, and since I had never been, I was beyond excited!

North Face had an amazing running display, and I couldn’t help but to snap a photo of it for motivation. I also managed to document Mike checking his ass out in a pair of Diesel jeans. 🙂

I had an amazing day with my best friend. It’s difficult not being 15 minutes away, but he is succeeding in Boston and having the time of his life so I’m very happy for him. Plus, he’s only 45 minutes away, which isn’t too bad, and while I’m not a fan of Boston, he makes it better.

I’m exhausted and cannot wait to crawl into bed in 5.7 seconds. Hope you all had a fun Fall weekend!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,
Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness