Christmas with my Mom’s Family

Yesterday afternoon my Mom’s side of the family put a wrap to the Christmas celebrations. We headed over to my Uncle’s around 2 and immediately jumped at the appetizers as we all had hungry appetites.

IMG_5726

My Aunt’s bruschetta was my absolute favorite! I’ve never been too interested in trying bruschetta, but one bite of hers and I was in a new kind of heaven.

IMG_5725

The middle bites were my favorite, as they were extra soft and sweet. Perfect! After appetizers, everyone that was 21+ went to begin our Yankee Swap while my high school cousins opened their gifts. Unfortunately they’re at the age where they only want gift cards so it’s no fun to watch them open.

IMG_5735

I picked #3 out of 9 and I was pretty worried but luckily I went home with what I picked and what I wanted the most. A mini brownie maker with the BEST brownie mix! Okay, so this doesn’t really correlate with my desire to eat clean, buttttt this is awesome.

After the gifts and Yankee Swap were complete, I hung out on the couch with my cousins before we sat down for dinner.

photo-25

My Aunt prepared every dish, and yes, I took a little of everything, but my favorite was actually the mac ‘n cheese. I’m a mac ‘n cheese snob in the sense that I only like Kraft shells or characters, but her homemade mac ‘n cheese was out of this world.

IMG_5734

It was extra cheesy, just the way I like it! My other favorite was her chicken wrapped in tomato and cheese stuffing. Holy crap. And that crusted ball you see, that’s actually a potato covered in planko. I wasn’t a fan of the potato but I did eat the shell!

If you want to see big dogs, just take a look at one of my Uncle’s Newfoundland dogs weighing in at 125 pounds.

IMG_5738

IMG_5737

Izzy is such a fluff ball and all I wanted to do was cuddle her all day and night. Such a cute baby!

I didn’t snap a picture of the desserts, but I did enjoy a handful or two of my Mom’s addicting mix before we hit the road to brave the snow storm we were stuck in. When we arrived home, my parents, Ryan and I cuddled in our family room and enjoyed Ryan’s last night by watching Trouble with the Curve. I didn’t pay attention the entire time as I was busy with a little work, but from what I saw I enjoyed the movie!

Sunday

Today has been a pretty busy and tiring day. I woke up around 9 (not enough sleep), and ran a decent 4 miles before saying goodbye to Ryan and attacking my list of errands. I failed pretty much with everything I wanted to accomplish (finding a new foam roller and a going out top), but I did score some pretty sweet deals at Yankee Candle and GNC.

IMG_5753

After my errands I enjoyed a bowl of Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal before I hit the gym for a strength workout and to relax and unwind in the sauna. On my way home from the gym I shoveled a good 60% of my neighbor’s driveway, and was supposed to be at Allie’s house for the evening to watch the football game, but I’m completely wiped out from the shoveling.

I’m just about to crawl into my bed and watch a chick flick on my new Blu-Ray dvd player I got for Christmas.

photo-26

It has some really kick ass features that I wasn’t expecting. Actually, on my Christmas list I asked for “a basic DVD player that plays DVDs” and received a Blu-Ray DVD player from my Dad. He seriously spoils me. 🙂

I’m really craving a little Gerard Butler in my life so I have a night of drooling ahead of me. Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Christmas with my Mom’s Family

  1. Kerry says:

    All of the food looks delicious! Your uncle’s dog is so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

