Oh Hey Holiday Weight Gain

If there was a day that I could sleep until it was time for bed, today would be the day. Yesterday drained every ounce of energy and spunk I had from my body.

Yesterday

I left work at 12:30 for my 6th training session with Heather, and right when I found her in the gym she told me that she made her last client puke. I’m not sure if that was Heather’s goal for me, but if it was, she almost succeeded. Holy crap I’ve never been worked so hard in such a long time. It hurt so good! (If I wrote this post last night there would not have been any exclamation points after that last sentence, and based on how my body is NOT moving today, I think that exclamation point is solely for effect).

20121228-113240.jpg
Heather had me doing my dreaded burpee dumbbell combo from hell, sumo squats with weight plates, pulse squats on steps, jump squats on steps, chest flies, rows, and core work from hell. There were only 2 small spots on my shirt that weren’t covered in sweat; otherwise, I looked like I had been thrown into a pool. In 57 minutes, Heather had me burn 456 calories, and was in the fat burning zone for 36 of those 57 minutes.

Once I got home, I showered and ate a bowl of oatmeal with peanut butter and apple butter, which actually wasn’t satisfying at all. Such a bummer! Once Ryan got home from the gym (yes he got to watch me go through hell!) and he showered and ate, we tore Chelsey away from her work and headed out to the Merrimack Outlets with my Mom to browse the sales and return several Christmas items.

I ended up leaving with quite the appetite and also a new pair of dark wash jeans and clearance earrings from American Eagle.

By the time we got back into town, it was 7 pm, and Ry, Chels and my parents had dinner plans with Ry’s best friend, Tim, his wife and his parents. Unfortunately I had to pass on the dinner since my body was physically and mentally exhausted, and the thought of being out until about 10 was just not appealing to me at all.

20121228-113322.jpg
So instead, I pretty much ate everything in the fridge, blogged about Christmas, and put away clean gym clothes with the help of Kip and his new stuffed alligator.

Today

This morning I woke up feeling like a football team trampled over me. My inner thighs burn, my arms hurt to lift, and my core is sore, but I know this is a great thing to be suffering through.

Morning Workout

• 4 mile run
• 50 crunches
• 50 heel touchers
• 1 minute plank hold
• 40 plank tucks
• Stretching

20121228-113611.jpg
I wasn’t sure how a morning run would pan out, but I surprised myself by covering 4 miles pretty quickly!

Confession

I have a confession to make that I think most of us can also admit to. I went overboard with holiday treats. Having Christmas cookies and chocolate around the house has definitely not been friendly on my waist. Coupled with Ryan being home, that means our pantry is packed with chips and other unhealthy temptations that I’ve given in to. I’ve put off weighing myself for a solid week and a half and when I woke up this morning I felt like complete shit. I knew I wasn’t going to like the number on the scale but I had to step on it to face the truth and tackle my weight loss starting this morning. I wasn’t pleased with the number, and even though it wasn’t as high as I was expecting, I easily gained 2 pounds since the 19th.

So, starting today, I am on a god damn mission to tone up, lose weight, and be at a healthy weight. After seeing myself from several bad angles in Christmas pictures, I knew that was the last straw. This morning, I opened excel and created a weight tracker. Having specific dates to track my weight make it mandatory. I’m starting off weighing myself every 2 days, which will add up to 3 times a week. I know there are many opinions on how often one should weigh themselves, but I need the accountability and this is what works for me (for now).

My next weigh in is scheduled for Sunday, and I am determined to weigh a little less than I do today.

Did you guys slip up during the Holidays and paying for the weight gain now? If so, how do you plan on conquering the weight gain? I love hearing new and different ways!

Tagged , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Oh Hey Holiday Weight Gain

  1. anniewoodfin says:

    i ate BUTTLOADS of cookies. i think literally…..my butt is now carrying the load. no biggie. it’s fun to indulge, but it feels really good to get back to healthier/normal eating. try not to weigh every day (i know it’s hard!!). you probably ate more sodium over the holidays (i know i did), which can cause H2O retention and fluid gain and inaccurate info from your scale. don’t stress. it’ll balance out 🙂

  2. Don’t beat yourself up about it! Just work hard as the new year starts!

  3. Kerry says:

    I definitely go overboard on the holidays. I am a sweets lover! This time of year only comes around once. I know every year I am going to eat way too many Christmas cookies so I just go with it. I know once New Year’s Day is over, so is the holiday food madness and life will resume to normalcy soon. Don’t worry too much!

  4. ill take your 2 pounds and trade you my.. 15 I gained this year? hahaha! seriously it SUCKS but at the end of the day what matters the most is how you are in great shape, you work out TONS and you eat healthy at least 80% of the time. This is NOT the time of year to try to lose weight.. i have just been making the most amount of healthy choices I can and making sure I fit in workouts almost daily and I know that I will start to get really serious about my food choices after New Years. You’ve got this, girl!!

    • runningonpb says:

      I gained a lot more than 2 this year as well, and I’m definitely changing that this coming year! I wish we could be workout partners, but I can just settle for virtual workout buddies. You’re definitely right about this being the wrong time of the year to try and lose weight. Thanks for the advice girl, you’re awesome! 🙂

      • AHH i wish we could be workout buddies tooo! I definitely think about your amazing daily workouts when I feel like slacking off these days 🙂 and i’m loving reading about this cute guy you’re hanging with!!! woo woo! 😉

  5. […] a picture of us and I was happy to oblige, even if it did turn out dark and blurry. Damn that earring earned the center of attention in the […]

  6. […] I mentioned I was excited to get back into my workout routine as I’ve realized during the last week and a half, my strength workouts have been seriously lacking! Today I told myself that I was going to complete the Pure Hell workout from last week’s training session, you know, the workout that almost made me puke. […]

  7. […] that said, since we have all gained a little over the holidays, I’m excited to announce that I signed up for Erica’s Diet Bet. For $20, you enter a contest […]

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

