A Happy Heart

I’ve been a very bad bloggy girl the past few days. With the holidays, Ryan and Chelsey being home, and a new surprise in my life, I took several days to step away from blogging to focus on several more important things in my life.

I’ll work on my Christmas recap post a little later this evening, but I do have a little catching up to do for Christmas Eve and the day after Christmas.

Christmas Eve started with a sweaty and craptastic 3 mile run, and several back exercises on the cable machine. I originally had a workout that I really wanted to do, but the gym was a mad house and too many men were hogging all of the machines I wanted to use, so I stayed in the women’s gym and worked with what I could.

If you remember a previous post, I went out Saturday night and Sunday day with Mark, a new prospect in my life. Since we’re hitting it off ridiculously well, we couldn’t wait until yesterday to see each other, so we decided to spend the free time we had on Christmas Eve together. Since Ryan and Chelsey weren’t arriving into town until 3ish, I knew I had several free hours before our family festivities started. I headed over to Marks around noon and we spent the next 4 ½ hours watching movies and just talking. You can bet I left his apartment with the biggest smile on my face! 🙂

20121227-103023.jpg
When I got home, my brother was excited to show off his new toy helicopter that Chelsey’s parents gave to him as part of a Christmas gift. We talked and ate my Mom’s famous pork pie for dinner before we got ready to go out for a drive to look at all of the Christmas lights around town.

20121227-103223.jpg
Before we made it into the car, Ryan, my Dad and I had a fun time flying the helicopter in the dark.

20121227-103253.jpg
When Chels and I started to get cold, we called everyone into the truck and took off on our annual Christmas light drive, which is my favorite part of Christmas Eve.

After watching several home videos that Chelsey took from her new video camera, we settled by the Christmas tree and fire and watched Christmas Vacation. Before we knew it, 11 o’clock rolled around and we headed up to bed before the big guy came down our chimney.

Day after Christmas

The day after Christmas started with a 4 mile run and a quick squat focused workout on the smith machine, before I hopped on the elliptical for 20 minutes, completed 4 sets of 13 back extensions, and a few shitty core exercises.

I showered and got dolled up before heading over to Mark’s for an all-day date! We lounged on his coach and talked for a bit before brainstorming possible adventure ideas. After looking up flights to Chicago (yes we were that serious), we settled on driving up to Portsmouth for a fun day around the mini city.

We walked around the city for a good 40 minutes, bundled up and close together while we window shopped the open restaurants to find a winner for lunch. We settled on a pizza joint, which I honestly forget the name of. I had no desire to take pictures of any meals over the week with Mark, mainly because I wanted to focus on him and not for blogging material. We both ordered 2 amazing salads that kept us full for a great chunk of the day and afternoon.

We wandered in and out of the tiny souvenir shops, a funky blown glass store, and our favorite, a children’s store full of fun little trinkets. One of our last stops was a store that we were attracted to because of the shirts hanging up in the windows, but to our surprise, we found candy bins out back and went to town filling up a bag of our favorite candies to share on our drive home. After eating our way into a sugar coma, we spent another hour and a half on his couch chatting and watching TV. All in all, I had one of the best days in a long time and am extremely excited to see him tomorrow!

Today

Phew, thank goodness I don’t have too much to recap yet. I woke up to a winter wonderland, as we got hit overnight with a big storm. So far we have roughly 8 inches of snow and expect a good amount more before the day ends.

It was so tough waking up again at 5:30, but I’m very happy to be back into my normal routine. Even though I got little sleep last night, I managed to squeeze in a decent 4 mile run before attacking the snowy unpaved roads.

Morning Workout

• 4 mile run
• 3 sets of 15 stair push-ups
• 50 crunches
• 50 heel touchers
• 1 minute plank hold
• Stretching

20121227-103542.jpg
The workout was pretty pathetic in terms of core work, but I’ll be getting my butt kicked this afternoon by my trainer, so it alllll works out!

20121227-103842.jpg
My drive into work wasn’t too bad; I managed to stay on the road, and was one of the only brave souls to make the trek into work today. Talk about a total ghost town!

20121227-103943.jpg
At least I only have a half day of work today, so I really can’t complain too much! Stay safe out there!

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “A Happy Heart

  1. Happy for your and your new prospect! Hope it works out! We got about 16″ of snow last night but luckily I don’t have to go back to work until next week!

  2. runningonpb says:

    ahh thanks girl!! 🙂 really hoping it works out too, been a long time coming, that’s for sure. Can’t believe you got that much snow, you’re definitely lucky you didn’t have to drive in it. Gives you a nice reason to stay inside all day and be lazy!

  3. […] is actually pretty hard as a blogger. Ever since New Year’s Day, things have been weird with The Prospect, which won’t make Jen too happy since she’s been loving the dating […]

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

