Killer Workout and Killer Healthy Muffin

Last night my Aunt Judy, who hosts Christmas every year, sent out an email with what each family/individual brought to the feast and also highlighted special guests and fun activities we enjoyed. With the Christmas list generated, I am anxiously reading through blogs and browsing Pinterest in hopes of finding a delicious and creative dessert to bring. So that’s what my day has basically been comprised of. Oh and work too, but less of that and more of dessert browsing. Priorities people. 😉

Today’s awesomeness has been, well, purely awesome. Not only did I get a great workout in today, but I also have enjoyed quite a few yummy meals.

Before we get to the fun food, let’s talk about workouts.

Last Night’s Personal Training

Last night Heather put me through a bitching workout. In between dripping pounds of sweat on the gym floor and guzzling water, I made sure she knew how crazy she was. Just look at her nasty workout she put me through last night and tell me you wouldn’t be cursing her out too.

20121211-155743.jpg
The one thing I love about this workout is that I can easily do it at my home gym in my basement. We have several different bars from when my brother lifted weights at home so I’m happy to report that this one will be done in the comforts of my home and not in front of my coworker. Yup, my ass was a foot in front of my coworkers face while I did those stupid burpees and he did some type of core work. Talk about awkward!

Today’s Workout

• 5 mile run
• 1 minute plank hold
• 50 crunches
…followed by this sucker!

20121211-160043.jpg


My run was ridiculously easy, and by easy I mean I wasn’t huffing and puffing and swearing at my midg legs to keep me going. I’m not going to say anything so that I don’t jinx myself, but I might have blogged last week about my runs being more difficult due to the workouts from my trainer. Not sure what’s happening this week, but I love how toned my arms and back have become, and my legs are feeling much better as well. I’ll just blame the running improvements on my physical improvements.

FOOOOOOD

This morning, even though I was pressed for time and running late, I decided I wanted to switch up my meals for the day.

I started my morning off with half of a grapefruit. I just love tangy sweetness to kick off my mornings, with half of a mini cup of applesauce, the rest was used for lunch, and a protein shake to go. This time, I only made my shake with milk. No frozen naners, ice or spinach. Wah.

20121211-160148.jpg
I stayed true to my breakfast #2 of a Chobani strawberry power bowl, which included flax seed, chia seeds, raw oats and PB2. I CAN’T give that goodness up. Chobani will be included in my “last meal,” no doubt about that!

Lunch is where the big change came. I decided to leave my grilled chicken, sweet potatoes and cherry tomatoes for tomorrow and had the urge to try STUFT Mama’s Healthy Apple Microwave Muffin.

20121211-160321.jpg
This had to have been one of the easiest and healthiest recipes for a quick meal or snack. I followed the recipe exactly, aside from subbing cinnamon for the nutmeg, and microwaved the muffin for 5 minutes exactly. Perfect timing.

20121211-160422.jpg
I reheated it at work and topped it with the remnants of my PB2 and a tablespoon of Land o’ Lakes Cinnamon Sugar butter spread since I’ve been dying to try it for months and didn’t have enough PB2.

20121211-160549.jpg
Kristin you are a genius and I love you forever. If I still lived in California I’d sure as hell be having muffin mug dates with you pretty much every single day.

You guys HAVE to try this! I can’t wait to try Kristin’s other variations on the muffin. I’m thinking my next one will have to be a moist chocolately version as a little nighttime dessert.

Time for the Christmas movies!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

