I Hate Burpees

As I sit here at my computer, the actual typing of this post is literally painful. Last night, after battling a case of hot flashes and the chills at work, Heather put me through a workout that made me want to cry. My arms were screaming bloody murder, and this morning, they’re screaming revenge on Heather.

Ow.

It was such a quick workout, but it definitely wasn’t easy. Once we got to the TRX area, the first words out of her mouth were, “burpee time.”

Bugh, seriously!

20121204-115358.jpg
I don’t hate burpees, but I don’t like them either. The only time I hate them is when I wear a loose shirt and people are around. Check and check.

Now I know I have abs of steel (I can dream!), but I hate the idea of being watched and critiqued by outsiders while my shirt is flip-flopping in the wind with my stomach in full view. It’s just not cute.

The burpee workout had me holding two 10-lb dumbbells. I’d place the dumbbells on the ground, hop back, do a push up, hop up, do a bicep curl to an overhead press. 15 bloody times.

We then headed to the cables to do 2 different chest/shoulder/back workouts which included crossing my arms in an X and hugging a tree. I left my paper in my car so that’s as technical as we’ll get. 😉

This was followed by 2 variations of TRX cable pull-ups, high and low, side planks with a lateral dumbbell raise with a hip dip, and finally jump squats into overhead presses.

This workout was repeated once but it was hated for the entire night.

When I got home, I was feeling a lot better than earlier in the day, and no longer suffered the hot and cold flashes. I enjoyed Thanksgiving #2 leftovers and then settled on the couch with a bag of pretzel sticks. I was seriously lacking in the carbs department and needed comfort food while I watched a Christmas movie.

**

I was out cold by 8:30 last night and slept like a rock, but with all that sleep, I still needed MORE. Don’t you just hate how long it can take for your body to recover from several hard and tiring days?

I contemplated taking a personal day, then quickly decided against it and gave my morning run a shot. It was a lot easier than I had anticipated, but I’ve noticed ever since I’ve started working with my personal trainer, that my runs have become more difficult. I realize it’s from the workouts Heather has been putting me through, but boy, my mornings are 10 times more difficult now!

Morning Workout

• 3.2 mile run
• 1 minute plank
• 50 heel touchers
• 50 crunches
• 30 toe touchers
• 100’s abs
• 2 sets of 13 standing dumbbell side crunches
• Stretching

20121204-115653.jpg
This is how we do planks in my house. Jake ALWAYS has to sit underneath my chest. I feel bad when I drip an incredible amount of sweat on him, but he never seems phased. He keeps me going. My little motivator for not crashing on him.

Breakfast

20121204-115837.jpg
Breakfast was once again half of a grapefruit and a chocolate protein shake before work and a Chobani pomegranate yogurt bowl several hours later at work.

I have my legs & arms workout scheduled for today, but my body is so sore that I’m contemplating either taking the day off completely or just doing light cardio for a little at the gym.

Tonight I’ll be heading to my cousin Lindze’s house to have dinner and spend the evening with her and her husband, Mike, so an evening workout isn’t doable.

I’ll have to decide quickly!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

