Sometimes You Just Need to Have Fro-Yo for Dinner

Last night after work I met up with my girl Lindsay for a fro-yo date and to catch up. We both found it hard to believe that it had been a month since we last saw each other. With traveling for work and being sick, it was difficult to get together, BUT we vowed to not let that much time lapse. Plus, we have plans to drool over John Cusack in Serendipity, watch Christmas movies and go shopping, so I’ll have plenty of best friend time in my future. 🙂

We met up at 5:30 at Yo-Flava, a semi-new frozen yogurt bar in Manchester that we’ve been to once before. We were so excited to see the fall and winter flavors mixed among the regular flavors.

In my bowl I went for apple pie, cheesecake and a pomegranate mix. Typically I would load my fro-yo with unhealthy toppings, including anything covered in chocolate and cookie and candy pieces. Last night, I topped my fro-yo with strawberries and blackberries to play with the cheesecake, finely diced walnuts, and a small scoop of mini chocolate morsels.

20121129-115524.jpg
I tried my best to match the toppings with the flavors since last time it was a total disaster, and I’m happy to report that I succeeded!

All that cheesecake fro-yo had me craving the REAL cheesecake in my fridge, so when I got home I HAD to have a mini slice.

What? You only live once. 😉 Plus, this morning Lindsay informed me that cheesecake is calorie free so whatevs! Treat yo’ self and live a little.

Several days ago my bestie Lisha was telling me about a new show on MTV called Catfish, and since I had the house to myself and nothing to do, I sprawled out onto the couch and put it on. Holy moly is that show addicting!

20121129-115651.jpg
One of us was bored and it wasn’t me. I had a load of laundry that had to be switched to the dryer halfway through my first episode but I couldn’t tear myself away from the show. Needless to say, after completing 2 episodes, I finally turned the show off and switched my laundry.

My priorities were very evident last night and I have no shame in the mindless television I watched or the treats I enjoyed.

**

My legs are almost back to normal, which is great, aside from the fact that the workout that murdered my midget legs is scheduled for today. I could complain about my legs not having a day to feel normal again, but I enjoy the pain because I know my body is being positively challenged. Bring it on!

Ever since starting personal training last week, I’ve scaled down my runs a little bit by about a mile or less a day. Nothing too drastic but I like the feeling I get when I wake up and don’t have to worry about trying to get in a 4 mile run. I know that even on a hard morning, I can still get in a quality 3- 3.5 miler in and feel great about myself, especially when I know I have a strength workout to look forward to later in the day that will be even more beneficial to my goals.

So this morning I enjoyed a more relaxed workout atmosphere and with the help of my favorite Good Charlotte album, The Young & the Hopeless, I made it through 3.3 miles. Seriously, that’s one of my favorite albums ever created and my personal fav from the dudes.

Morning Workout

• 3.3 mile run
• 4 sets of 15 stair push-ups
• 50 heel touchers
• 1 minute plank hold
• 50 scissors
• 50 crunches
• 2 sets of 20 plank tucks
• 2 sets of 13 standing dumbbell side crunches

Breakfast

As weird as it’s been not having my overnight oats for breakfast, I’ve been enjoying my breakfast switcheroo, which in order to consume more calories a day, I’ve broken breakfast into 2 mini meals.

20121129-115844.jpg
Since I workout upon waking, you’ll have noticed that I’ve been eating half a grapefruit and a protein shake before leaving for work around 7:25ish. This not only helps with my muscle recovery from my morning workout, but it also gets my metabolism going again.

Between 9:30 and 10:15 I’ll usually enjoy the 2nd half of my breakfast, which has been a Chobani power bowl, which includes ½ tbsp. of: chia seeds, flax seeds, raw oats and sometimes PB2, depending on the yogurt flavor.

20121129-115949.jpg

Not only do I have more energy with my new breakfast routine, but I won’t lie when I say that I enjoy having 2 mini breakfasts each morning. Who doesn’t love to eat?

Do you guys switch up your breakfast daily or are you like me and a creature of habit?

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sometimes You Just Need to Have Fro-Yo for Dinner

  1. My friends and I are doing froyo for dinner tomorrow night! It’s definitely fun 🙂 and I justify it for being somewhat balanced…..protein, fruit, calcium, healthy fats…..could be worse! Haha

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

