Switching up the Morning Workout

Last night I felt like a little rebel child by staying up an hour past my bedtime. Instead of my typical, “be in bed reading by 9 and lights out by 10” gig, I didn’t head up until 10, and didn’t turn the TV off until the winners of Dancing with the Stars All-Stars were revealed at 11.

When Tony and Melissa were crowned the winners, I became so caught up in their happiness that I cried for them. Sounds pathetic, but if you’re a fan of the show, then you know what I’m talking about. It’s great to see 2 deserving individuals win; an overall feel good moment. And please, I didn’t ball my eyes out, it was more like several tears slid down my cheeks. 😛

Getting 1 less hour of sleep took an evident toll on me, and it didn’t help that my legs were still extremely tight and sore. I didn’t think a run would be possible, and while I contemplated crawling back into bed for an additional 30 minutes or so, I knew a walk would be better than nothing.

I grabbed my copy of The Happiness Project and got to walking. After walking half a mile, I wanted to test out my legs, and set off for a half mile run. Once I got moving I realized my legs didn’t hurt AS bad as they originally had. At that point, I knew I could get in several miles but at the same time I wanted to listen to my body, allow it to recover and not overdue it.

It felt nice to switch up my workout, and the remainder of my workout included intervals of walking and running. In the end, I ran 2.5 and walked 1.25. While I ran 1-1.5 miles less than normal, I didn’t feel bad about that because I got a great workout and it honestly didn’t feel like I skimped out on a workout either.

I finished my workout with a handful of core exercises, and plan to run 1.5 miles on my lunch along with hopefully 10 minutes on the elliptical or spin bike.

Morning Workout

  • 2.5 mile run & 1.25 mile walk
  • 15 stair push-ups
  • 50 heel touchers
  • 30 toe touchers
  • 50 scissors
  • 50 crunches
  • Stretching & foam rolling

Since I was feeling more tired than usual, I knew that last night’s Muscle Milk freebie would fit perfectly into my breakfast. Along with half of a grapefruit, I enjoyed Muscle Milk Light’s Vanilla Latte that contained caffeine. Not only did it taste like breakfast, but it was very light, didn’t weigh me down, and gave me a boost!

While I enjoyed the shake, I can’t say that I’d buy it on my own as it was just a little too sweet for me.

I also enjoyed a Chobani power bowl, which included Mango Chobani and ½ tbsp. of: chia seeds, flax seed and raw oats to round out my breakfast later in the morning, and enjoyed a banana and almonds before going to the gym on my lunch hour.

Tonight I have a fro-yo date with Lindsay and I couldn’t be any happier. I haven’t seen that gypsy since our last fro-yo date which seemed ages ago. We had fro-yo plans 2 weeks ago, but with her traveling to CT for work the last 2 weeks and me being sick, we had to cancel.

Now it’s time for me to get my big butt to the gym and finish up the work day.

Catch you guys later with a full belly and a fro-yo recap. SO EXCITED!! 🙂

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

