I Survived Personal Training!

I did something today that I never do. I took a sick day. Okay, technically no, but I took a sick “morning,” and went into work 3 hours later, at 11.

I needed it. I woke up around 1 am with a sinus headache. My jaw and eyes were killing me, my throat was hoarse, and I had a headache and a stuffy nose. I was so sexy. I couldn’t fall back asleep for quite a bit and I just knew that the morning wasn’t going to be pretty.

When my alarm went off at 5:25, I got up, looked in the mirror and my exact thoughts were, “oh hell no!” I crawled back into bed, snoozed until 6, let my boss and coworker know I’d be late and slept until quarter of 8. I woke up feeling amazing, even though I was still blowing my nose every 10 seconds.

I managed to get a 4 mile run in. Don’t ask me how. My lungs were struggling and my nose was running, so it took me a lot longer than usually, but I had time on my side so it was allllll good.

Morning Workout

• 4 mile run
• 50 heel touchers
• 30 toe touches
• 50 crunches: regular, left and right
• 1 minute plank hold
• 2 sets of 20 mountain climbers • Stretching

After my run, I multi-tasked with core work and watching Kelly & Michael, which I was extremely excited about since I’m never home to watch their show. Kelly Ripa is my idol. So pretty, hilarious, witty and down to earth. I’m sure she’d say the same about me if she met me. 😉

I enjoyed a summer breakfast, even though it was only 30 degrees out.

20121120-143237.jpg
I went for my go-to chocolate peanut butter banana protein shake, half of a grapefruit and a clementine. I was all about the citrusy flavors this morning!

I haven’t had the biggest appetite at all today. Okay, scratch that. It’s nonexistent, but I’m forcing myself to eat small meals since I’ve been told I need more calories. It’s hard enough to consumer several hundred additional calories when you’re already full, but when you’re sick and have to force yourself to eat breakfast or lunch, it’s even harder because I know I’ll be under my recommended goal for today. Oh well, that is life!

My lunch, or snack eaten during the lunch hour was delish… even with no appetite!

20121120-143416.jpg
I enjoyed a Chobani power bowl, which consisted of strawberry Chobani yogurt, chia seeds, old-fashioned oats, PB2 and flax seed. Alright, sometimes eating regardless of your hunger is fun. 😉

***

Last night I had my first personal training session. I can’t put it any simpler, but, I LOVE my trainer. She’s kick-ass, fierce, funny, and nice. She pushed me to the limit last night and I loved every second of it, including my seizing legs and shaky arms.

Since I got to the gym 20 minutes early, I warmed up with a fast-paced walk on the treadmill to get my heart rate up, before heading to the front desk to talk with Jeremy until Heather was ready.

Heather put me right into the workout, and had me work my legs with a series of squats with a stability ball, step-ups, leg curls, and sidekicks. After completing that circuit, we did arm work, which consisted of using machines for my triceps, biceps and shoulders. Both of these circuits were repeated twice, and boy was I dripping in sweat!

This girl knows how to work you. She’s more of the Bob Harper type, which I absolutely prefer.

After my workout we talked about some topics I had on my mind before we said our goodbyes and I chatted with Jeremy again before calling it a night.

All I can say is that having a personal trainer is going to be money well spent and I can already tell that Heather is eager to push me to get the results we both want for me.

Merry early Christmas to me! 😉

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I Survived Personal Training!

  1. […] I Survived Personal Training! (runningonpb.com) […]

  2. […] I Survived Personal Training! (runningonpb.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

