A Week With No Chobani Yogurt?!

Last night I was fast asleep by 9:15, and I only know that because the last text I received was at 9:12. I looked at it, decided I’d respond in the morning, and fell into a deep coma.

Unfortunately, I woke up feeling like total crap. Not sick wise, I’m actually feeling better, but body wise, not so lovely.

I’m blaming this on eating junk last night, aka the chocolate chip cookies I received in my Love with Food box earlier this week. SO good, especially since I washed down each bite with almond milk, straight from the container. 😉

I’m actually kicking myself because I gained on the morning that I had my dreaded 1 year weigh in for my yearly physical.

Since my appointment was at 8:15 this morning, I had about 20 extra minutes to play with, which allowed me to hit snooze an extra time 😉 and to get a longer run in.

Morning Workout

  • 4.5 mile run
  • 3 sets of 15 stair push-ups
  • 2 minute plank hold
  • 2 sets of 20 mountain climbers
  • 2 sets of 13 standing dumbbell side crunches
  • LOTS of stretching

My legs have been extremely tight the past several days, so I focused more on stretching then on core work. Hammis need love too!

I’m one of those freaks who actually enjoys going to the dentist and doctors. My doctor is pretty kickass. She’s a marathon runner, places quite frequently, and is a health nut. It’s comforting to have a doctor that is in shape, knows proper nutrition, and is easy to shoot the shit with. My appointments with her actually last a lot longer than the average visit because we get caught up talking about running, races, running gear, and about our family and work.

I had several topics I wanted to discuss with her, including my bloating and a proper meal plan. I’ve visited several websites that offer meal plans based on your weight goals, and many of them have told me I need to INCREASE my calorie intake in order to lose weight. This absolutely terrifies me because I eat a lot, but when we discussed this, she told me I should join SparkPeople so that I can see where my food is falling; carbs, protein, fat, and to see where I need to alter my eating choices.

When I got to work, I talked with Jen about this and she recommend that I download the iPhone app, MyFitnessPal. Needless to say, I joined both right when I sat down, and have had fun analyzing my food choices and checking out my pie charts with my current intake and recommended intake.

A shocker came with my Raspberry Mango Overnight Oats. I wasn’t expecting to see that my bowl contains roughly 440-470 calories!

 

Holy crappo! So worth it though! Sadly I probably won’t be able to enjoy too many of these bowls for a bit while I play around with the foods I eat to see what works and what doesnt. This bowl felt like my last meal!

The only comforting thing I can say about this is that I’ve always followed the mantra, eat like a king at breakfast, a queen at lunch and a beggar at dinner. There are so many variations on this mantra, but this is what my brother taught me, and I love that I can be a queen at one point during my day. 😉

In regards to the bloating I’ve been dealing with, she recommended several websites to me and to play around with my foods. Take turns cutting out dairy and flour for several days to a week to see how my body reacts, and then reintroduce them for similar results. Excuse me, no Chobani? Not happening.

While I might have gained, I left the appointment feeling very confident and thankful that I have a doctor who is constantly trying to get me to my healthiest.

Lunch

Lunch came as a fun surprise from my boss, who decided to treat us to lunch at Fratello’s for surviving our hectic work week. How did she know I forgot to pack a lunch?! 😉

I chose the Portabella Salad which is, Mesclun greens topped with grilled portabella mushrooms, marinated artichoke hearts, and roasted red peppers, topped with feta cheese and homemade croutons.  I opted out of the croutons, which prompted a bashing from the ladies in my department, and added grilled chicken with the Colavita Olive Oil & Balsamic Vinegar dressing on the side.

How could I pass up a salad with portabella mushrooms, artichoke hearts AND feta cheese?

This sucker weighed a ton and I had absolutely no idea where to start. My favorite parts were the artichoke hearts, grilled chicken and feta cheese crumbles. I didn’t even need my dressing, as the artichoke hearts were very-well marinated.

I didn’t even make a dent in it at lunch, so I’m stoked to be able to have this for dinner tonight… and for the rest of the week. This baby could feed an army!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A Week With No Chobani Yogurt?!

  1. aburgwin says:

    I have also put some of my meals into My Fitness Pal and have been shocked at how many calories are in there. I keep trying to convince myself that calories don’t matter THAT much as long as I am eating clean. But… They do matter. I love oatmeal as well! I’ve enjoyed your reading your blog it is similar to mine!

    • runningonpb says:

      It’s honestly crazy the amount of calories that are in the foods we eat. I’m really loving using SparkPeople. I love the pie charts it gives you to break down your stats. It’s definitely helpful, and I’m actually looking forward to playing around with it. Love your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

