I Kicked the Midnight Snack Habit!

I don’t know what’s been going on but for the past week I have constantly been waking up to a headache and it’s getting old to be frank.  It just sits there quietly but noticeable at the back of my head. No amount of Ibuprofen will kick it either.

I swear I’m a medical mystery, there’s always something that’s screwy with me.

Again I was out COLD last night. I put my phone away at 9:40 and slept through the entire night. It’s really insane how things play out, because if you remember, I used to always wake up in the middle of the night around 3 am and have a snack, which more times than not included peanut butter. In abundance. I discussed it on the blog because I wanted to bring it to light and hold myself accountable for my actions. I noticed that it was one of the biggest reasons in me not being able to tone up.

I used to go to bed KNOWING and TELLING myself that I’d have a snack in the middle of the night. That’s how ingrained those snacks had become in my life and mind. I wanted to kick the habit so I started counting the days that I went without a midnight snack and reported the next morning on my blog.

Well guys, I’m happy to say that I no longer go to bed telling myself I’ll be up at 3 am to eat, nor do I have to tell myself not to snack during the night. Just like eating in the middle of the night was a habit, my new habit this past month has been no midnight snacks. The thought no longer even crosses my mind when I get to sleep. Not only do I wake up feeling healthier and more energized, but I also fall asleep faster and sleep through the night.

Sometimes changing habits take time and effort, but patience is key. Remember, Rome wasn’t built in a day. Progress and change takes time, and with determination and faith, you will get there!

I’ve also noticed that my peanut butter addiction has dramactically decreased as well, which I am so pleased about. Instead of having 2 or 3 times the recommended serving, I now either stick to the recommended serving, or even less! Don’t worry, I’ll never stop eating peanut butter, because that wouldn’t be fun and then I’d have to change my blog name. Not happening! 😉

This morning’s workout was a good one, and I expected it to be since I’m using my lunch to get my pearly whites cleaned!

Morning Workout

  • 3.8 mile run
  • 3 sets of 15 stair push-ups
  • 1:43 plank hold – I beat Monday’s time by 8 seconds in Tina’s 4-Week Challenge
  • 2 sets of 20 mountain climbers
  • 50 crunches & 50 side-to-side crunches
  • 20 toe touches
  • 30 heel touchers

I used to do heel touchers in college but completely forgot about them until my coworker told me she did them at R.I.P.P.E.D the other night. These babies seriously work your obliques and you’ll feel the burning pain in no time. It hurts so good!

This morning since I was all out of my Chobani Mango, I grabbed the Strawberry Banana yogurt bowl I had left and put a spin on my usual bowl of overnight oats.

In this mix I threw frozen blueberries and raspberries and then sprinkled in ground flax seed and PB2. Holy heavens this was so good! I loved the creamy peanut butter taste that the PB2 adds. I swear whenever I have a Strawberry Banana bowl I NEED that PB2 in there. Pure (healthy) comfort food.

A little before my dentist appointment I got really hungry, so I snacked on an apple, 1 piece of my California Roll that I brought for lunch, and then a bowl of a chopped hard boiled egg and half of an avocado. This time I added salsa to the mix.

Seriously this was ten times better than the egg and avocado mashup I enjoyed Wednesday. You’d think with everything I’ve eaten so far, and yes I enjoyed a chocolate peanut butter banana protein shake after my morning workout, that I wouldn’t be ravenous. All I can account it to is an increase in my metabolism due to the strength training that P90X has thrown into my daily routine.

After getting a “very good” at my 6-month cleaning, I rewarded myself with the last 3 California Rolls and a banana dipped in PB2 powder. If you have PB2, you have to try dipping the banana in the powder. Of course it tastes better when you smear the banana with the prepared PB2, but you get enough of the peanut butter taste with each bite and you use less PB2. Double win! 🙂

I’m buzzing out of work an hour early today at 4 to get in a quick workout before my date. Crossing my fingers, I hate first dates! Ahhhh!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

