I Love Me Some Overnight Oats

It’s a no brainer that I am obsessed, addicted, and completely devoted to overnight oats. In the past I had always seen blogger after blogger talking only good things about overnight oats, but there were just 2 things holding me back before I caved into the madness.

The biggest factor was that I didn’t have chia seeds, and every store that I visited, was sold out. I read that the chia seeds were the all-star in the oats, giving it not only the perfect texture and consistency, but also packing a healthy punch in every bite, so I refused to try the oats until I had my own bag of chia seeds. In fact, chia seeds are so popular that the demand has increased by 200% as of late.

Chia Seeds are holy for so many reasons, including:

  • Powerhouse food
  • High in protein, fiber & omega-3
  • Increase energy, improve digestion, tone muscles, aid in better sleep and better your complexion

The 2nd factor was the look of it. It looked like a bowl of pure mush and I honestly was weary as to how oatmeal would taste cold. I mean, I never enjoyed when my warm bowl of banana bread oatmeal got a little too cold, so how was I going to enjoy mushy cold oatmeal?

I finally found the seeds, whipped up a bowl, and the next morning I was head over heels in love. Love at first bite. Sounds so very Edward Cullen!

There are still so many different variations of the oats that I am excited to try but for now, I’m hooked on my Raspberry Mango Overnight Oats and my PB and J Overnight Oats.

Overnight Oats have to be one of the easiest meals to throw together. It typically takes me about 3 minutes to prepare.

PB & J Overnight Oats

Directions:

1. In a bowl mix together:

  • ½ cup oats
  • ½ cup almond milk
  • PB2 – as much as you want
  • 1 container Chobani Strawberry Banana
  • 2 tbsp (or as much as you prefer) Chia Seeds

2. Cover the bowl and let the oats sit in the fridge overnight. In the morning, stir the oats and top with sliced bananas and raspberries.

I find that the texture of Greek yogurt yields the best results, and obviously Chobani is the no-brainer, I mean, if they had a cult I’d be one of their top members.

 

 

Mix it all up and throw in the toppings of your choice. To complete my Peanut Butter and Jam Overnight Oats bowl I tossed in banana slices and raspberries.

Grab a spoon and join my cult!

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “I Love Me Some Overnight Oats

  1. Are you into pumpkin? I like mixing vanilla chobani, a few spoonfuls of pumpkin puree, a teaspoon or so of pumpkin pie spice and then in the morning topping it with whipped cream. Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats. You’re welcome!~

    • runningonpb says:

      Whipped cream? I’m sold! I’m not the biggest fan of pumpkin purée but I think I could handle a few spoonfuls of it. Ill have to try this one.. Thanks Janine 🙂

  2. I’m going to try this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

