Happy Election Day…Running to Vote!

Last night I didn’t end up getting home until after 12:30, so I had planned accordingly with my boss prior and decided that I’d come in several hours late so that I could get some sleep and also vote. No way in heavens was I going to stand in the long voting lines at 5:30 tonight.

I hope you guys have voted or plan to later in the day. It’s your RIGHT and you should take advantage of that. That being said, after sleeping until 7:30, I laced up my sneakers and got ready for my run.

Our polls are located at the middle school, which is connected to my neighborhood by a bike path. My original plan was to run outside and near the end of my run, take the bike path to the middle school. I figured I could kill 2 birds with one stone. Workout and voting completed together.

I warmed up with a 2.5 mile run on my treadmill before layering up with my Nike Dri-Fit long sleeve shirt.

I should have rethought my outfit. My little legs were freezing, my fingers claimed victim to frostbite, and my ears were burning red. Okay, so there was no frostbite, but it would have been wise to look at the weather forecast BEFORE I went running and not after.

Every few steps I was sniffing snot and realized that by the time I made it to the polls, I’d probably have to stand outside in my inadequate clothing. At that point, I ran home and completed a 1.6 mile run, bringing my total to 4.1. A straight shot from my house to the school, via the path, would have been about 1 mile, and I wish I had sucked it up because in my town there were barely any lines!

After doing a little core work, I showered and downed a chocolate peanut butter banana protein shake before I packed up my work bag and headed to vote. I was in and out within 30 minutes! Lines my ass!

Originally I wanted dippy eggs and toast for breakfast, but because of my little running miscalculation, I was low on time so had to enjoy the above smoothie. Instead, my prepared breakfast was enjoyed as my lunch. Mixing it up a bit with those oats. 😉

And you guys thought I could go a day without oats. That’s almost as silly as me going a day without peanut butter!

Got my vote in, workout done and oats consumed. It’s gonna be a good day.

GO VOTE!!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

