Hit By a Bus.. And a Train.. And a Plane

Since Saturday evening I’ve had that “hit by a bus” feeling. My body is drained, my appetite is weird, and I have headaches galore. Simply put, I feel terrible. Coincidentally it’s Recovery Week in P90X. There we go, that explains it.

Sunday

After several attempts at having a productive Sunday, it turned into the ultimate lazy day.

I woke up at 7, which was technically 8, but I wish I had gotten the memo to sleep in! After a little couponing, I somehow ran 4 miles, but it wasn’t impressive. I was surprised my body even allowed me to go that far. I could tell it wanted to snap in half. At 3.8 miles I thought I was going to collapse and face plant on the treadmill.

After my defeated run, I skipped any other form of exercise. No strength training, no core work, not even the P90X workout that was scheduled. My body told me no more and I listened.

Instead, I went over to the Barking Dog to watch my Dad compete in an agility competition with Kip. It was so entertaining and priceless to watch dogs and their owners compete in the agility course.

20121105-131526.jpg
Most of the dogs are young and are in the agility classes that the Barking Dog offers, so by no means were these dogs ready for the BIG competitions.

I had plans to spend the rest of the afternoon at Barnes & Noble working on the blog and also tackling additional work that I really cannot disclose upon on here, but after 45 minutes I could barely concentrate and just wanted a nap. It didn’t help that it smelled like a litter box in the area I was sitting in! Or the man that would ask me every 10 minutes to keep an eye on his books so he could use the bathroom.

I packed it up and called it a day after successfully posting pictures on Facebook, oops, and finding several projects of interest on the internet. See, it wasn’t a complete fail!

20121105-131632.jpg
I spent the rest of my afternoon and evening finishing Gone Girl and cuddling on the couch with Kip while we drooled over Gary Sinise in CSI:NY. Well, Kip drooled over Sela Ward and left Gary to me.

The highlight of my evening were the Baked Carrot Chips that I successfully made after a somewhat less successful attempt last week.

20121105-131720.jpg
These babies are addicting and the entire batch was gone within the hour.

Baked Carrot Chips

Ingredients:

• 1 Bag of Carrot Chips
• Olive Oil

Directions:

1.) Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil – A dish could also work
2.) Toss the carrot chips in the desired amount of olive oil, but enough to cover the carrots fully
3.) Sprinkle with desired seasonings
4.) Spread on the cookie sheet and bake for roughly 40 minutes. If you bake these at a higher heat you’ll have to adjust the timing as well.

I didn’t even keep track of the time on these, I simply just checked on them every now and then until they were nice and crispy.

Today

Let’s not talk about today. I feel even worse than yesterday, although I felt pretty fantastic during this mornings workout.

Morning Workout

• 3.5 mile run
• 2 sets of 15 stair push-ups
• 1:13 plank hold
• 50 crunches and 50 side-to-side crunches
• 30 toe touches
• 20 Minutes of Core Synergetics (P90X – the rest of the scheduled workout will be done after work)
• Stretching

My appetite hasn’t showed up today but still forced myself to eat the bowl of overnight oats that I brought to work. Okay, I didn’t have to force myself at all; it was the best batch yet! Not sure what it was, but boy was that bowl good!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Hit By a Bus.. And a Train.. And a Plane

  1. […] Carrot chips! Better than sweet potato fries! […]

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

