Brick Wall

Today marks day 20 of P90X and my body is TIRED! I struggled through my morning AND lunch time run, but I also have last nights’ Legs & Back P90X workout to blame for sore legs.

Morning Workout

  • 3.5 mile run
  • 3 sets of 15 stair push-ups
  • 1:32 straight-arm plank hold
  • 2 sets of 20 mountain climbers
  • 100’s abs
  • 3 sets of 50 crunches: regular, left & right
  • Stretching

Being Friday, today marks a time trial day in the 4-Week Plank Challenge. On Monday I held the straight armed plank for 1:21, and today I beat it by 11 seconds. I’m slowly getting stronger, and while I know I should be able to hold it longer, my poor T-rex arms were shaking like a ‘quake!

I woke up exhausted to begin with and I knew that my lunchtime workout was basically just going to be a “break a sweat” type of session. Nothing strenuous; just a lil’ something something to get me moving.

By .60 miles into my afternoon run, my legs were on fire, and by my first mile I listened to my body and stopped. I was okay with stopping. The old me would have been stubborn and pushed through, but the new Allie knows it’s quality and not quantity that’s important. Sludging through extra miles won’t improve my endurance and strength.

Afternoon Workout

  • 1 mile run
  • 15 minutes vertical elliptical
  • 5 minute cool down walk

Lunch

For lunch I enjoyed leftovers from the past few days, and if you stopped by Running on Peanut Butter yesterday, you’ll recognize the meal. Slow cooker chicken with veggies and brown rice.

To be honest, I wasn’t in the mood for this meal. I wasn’t feeling my best, but I knew it was the right thing to do, and I secretly hopped that it would wake me up. It didn’t.

My body is hurting! I think if a pack of zombies began chasing me right now, not even my “fight or flight” senses would kick in to save my ass. To top it off, during the tail end of my afternoon run I managed to pinch a nerve in my right shoulder-blade, which is probably a result of my increase in strength training.

Today’s scheduled P90X workout is Kenpo X, with tomorrow being my day of rest, but based on how my body is currently feeling, I’m switching the two days around. There’s no use completing a workout if you cannot do it to your fullest potential.

CSI:NY!

On a positive note, I’m looking forward to a lazy and relaxing night which will be spent catching up on the bajillion shows I have on DVR (Married to Jonas, CSI:NY, Hocus Pocus, Kelly & Michael, Modern Family, Parks & Rec) and reading Gone Girl. It’s REALLY starting to get intense!

Before the lazy night starts, I’m running to the store to buy Christmas decorations and grab some food for the weekend. Girls gotta eat!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

