Holy Schnikes

You know what’s good? Life. That’s what’s good.

I was a Class A rebel last night by staying up a good 2 hours past my normal bedtime. I might have hit snooze one too many times this morning, and had a more difficult run, but it was worth it.

Morning Workout

  • 3.7 mile run
  • Ab Ripper X Workout
  • 100’s Ab
  • Stretching

Another sweaty workout that has left my body feeling like a rock star.

A rock star in cheetah-print flats, that’s what!

Today’s Outfit:

  • Fuchsia Shrug Top: Express
  • Skinny Belt: American Eagle
  • Khakis: American Eagle
  • Cheetah Flats: Bandolino (DSW)
  • Black & Gold Bracelet: J.Crew
  • Earrings: Hunk

This morning while I was waiting for my computer to start-up, I was flipping through the October edition of Runner’s World Magazine, and came across a tip on how to fix impatience.

If you read last night’s post, you’ll remember that I only lasted 25 of the 90 minute P90X yoga workout. I immediately decided to cross that workout off the list, but after reading the advice in Runner’s World, I changed my thinking and didn’t want to give up that easily.

“THE FIX: SET MINI GOALS Newbies tend to get discouraged by their “slow” progress (remember?). Have your friend focus on increasing the time spent running each week. At first, this may be just a minute or two, but these increments will grow. There’s nothing quite as empowering as being able to run longer and farther.”

While this advice is geared specifically towards runners, it can easily be translated to any aspect of your life, whether it revolves around working out or not. How am I going to incorporate this into my yoga workouts? Easy. I’ll gradually work my way up to the 90 minutes. So I did 25 minutes this week? Okay, next week I’ll aim for longer, whether it is an additional 10 or 20 minutes, all depending on how I feel.

Change, change, change. My body is changing, my mood is changing, and my breakfast is changing. Well, kind of. Don’t be fooled, I’m still going with the Mango Overnight Oats, but this morning instead of the typical raspberries on top, I went for the fresh blackberries that were in the fridge.

While it was a nice change, I still prefer the raspberries. The blackberries didn’t produce enough of a flavor punch for my liking. In the future, I think placing the blackberries on the oats the night before would be better, as I’m thinking the juices from the blackberries would settle into the oats more. That or frozen blackberries. Add that to my shopping list for this weekend.

Speaking of change, my man Obama is the next street over giving a speech in the park. I don’t talk politics. I know who I want to lead us, so I really could care less about the debates and so forth. As much as it should interest me, I have no say in what decisions are made once a new President is elected. I can only cast my vote and hope for the best. Seriously though, how am I supposed to focus and get work done when Obama is in my hood?! 

Afternoon Workout

  •  1.5 mile run
  • 10 minutes elliptical
  • 10 minutes additional cardio

Lunch

What’s that you smell for lunch? CHANGE. Again, holy schnikes Lewis. In an attempt to not eat the same exact meals every day, I spiced it up today with Gorton’s Grilled Tilapia on a bed of broccoli and brown rice.

This meal was delicious! With 15 grams of protein and 2 grams each of carbs and fat in the tilapia, this was a great post-workout meal.

Tonight I have a hot date with my best friend, Allie, where we’ll be cooking dinner together and catching up. She just got back Monday from her Orlando vacation, so I’ve been missing her quite tremendously. I’m excited to hear all about her time under the sun!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

