The Early Bird Gets a Good Sweat In

I’m not sure how I feel about my body allowing me to wake up earlier and earlier each morning. Let me rephrase that. I’m not sure how I feel about the fact that I WANT to wake up earlier than 5:30. Who have I become?

When I switched jobs and went from working at 9:30 to starting at 8, I was worried about my morning runs. Getting up at 6… Uh no thanks! Then I started getting up at 5:30 to get longer runs in. It seems the alarm is set even earlier each day now. At some point I have to admit I’m crazy. Someday but not today.

Do you have more motivation to work out early in the morning or after work in the evening?

I need some type of morning workout before I start my day. It not only makes me feel healthy, but it encourages me to continue to make healthy choices throughout the day, it wakes up my mind and body, and it keeps me in a good mood. After a long day of work I’d rather see friends and relax, then be at the gym. Oddly enough, I love hitting the gym at 5pm on the weekend when no one is around.

I was looking forward to having the extra time this morning in hopes of checking a 4-mile run off my list, but with a pounding headache and feeling like a sexy blob, I was able to come up with a 3.6 mile run. I’ll take it.

Morning Workout

• 3.6 mile run
• 4 sets of 15 stair push-ups
• 30 plank holds – regular and both sides
• 2 sets of 20 mountain climbers
• 20 side-twist rock climbers
• 50 crunches & 50 side-to-side crunches
• 50 scissors
• 100’s abs
• Stretching
• 2 sets of 20 squats — at work

Last week my R.I.P.P.E.D instructor made us do the Pilates 100’s abs move, which by just watching you wouldn’t think does much, but baby does it burn!

This morning I was quickly trying to think of what quick ab workout I could do that I haven’t done lately and it instantly popped in my head. I’ll be incorporating this guy into my future workouts. Enough of my 2-pack, gimme that 3-pack!

Breakfast

20121011-121407.jpg

Here’s a no-brainer. Breakfast was my Raspberry Mango Overnight Oats, which unfortunately didn’t tame my hunger, and I’m now off in search of something light to hold me over until lunch.

P90X should be arriving this afternoon! Excuse me as I go puke from excitement and fear.

One thought on “The Early Bird Gets a Good Sweat In

  1. I love a morning workout, luckily for me, as my body has decided on about 5am as a good time to wake up – way before my alarm, which I don’t even use anymore, I can’t sleep in anyway. Best time of day though, i think. I live near the beach, I love going there super early, everyone is working out, watching the sunrise. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

