Food Noise: We Need to Talk

This morning I’ve been talking with my girl Jaime, who never ceases to make me laugh. She contributes to 90% of my blog views, so thanks James for boosting my blog ego! Our conversations are always completely random. Take yesterday for instance. We started talking about her love Shaun White getting arrested, and then the topic shifted over to Alaskan accents. Not to get all sappy here, but she’s one of my favorite people to talk to. This morning we’ve been talking about exercise and our relationship with food. James has been kicking butt on her weightless journey and as she said, “It’s probably because I didn’t drink then eat a whole pizza.”

I’m the same way. If I go out to the bars, once I get home I want to eat, even if I’m not hungry. Chances are pretty damn good that you’ll find me eating something unhealthy, instead of a salad. Luckily I’m not at the bars often so I don’t have to worry about that. My issue that I realized long ago and am finally coming clean about, is that I eat mindlessly during the middle of the night. I work out great, eat healthy throughout the day, and then when I wake up in the middle of the night between midnight and 2, I always justify that since I’m up for the bathroom, I may as well enjoy a snack.

The problem is, I’m not even hungry, and it’s out of the way. I have to walk down the stairs and open the creaky cabinet door. By ignoring my snacking problem, I’m not getting any better. They always say the first step is admitting your problem, so there we go. Step one is done. I’m going to do my best to stop having food noise at night and when I do get up during the middle of the night to use the bathroom, I’m heading straight back to bed, because in reality, I love sleep a lot more than I love food.

This text cracked me up. James and I are complete opposites, but I love her clapping and encouragement.

So from here on out, I’m holding myself accountable to you guys. Every morning expect me to say that I didn’t engage in mindless eating or have a midnight snack. If I do, then I need a good punishment.

Do you guys have bad eating habits that derail your results or keep you from being your best? If so, what do you think would work best to nix those nasty habits?

This morning’s workout was better than yesterday. I woke up feeling more refreshed, even though I had trouble falling asleep. I was able to get an extra minute or 2 in my run than yesterdays, and also had the energy to throw in strength exercises.

Morning Workout

  • 3.3 Mile run
  • 1 minute plank hold
  • 15 girly push-ups
  • 2 sets of 20 mountain climbers
  • 2 sets of 13 skiing dumbbell squats
  • 2 sets of 13 deadlifts to upward chest rows
  • 100 jump ropes, alternating between single and double jumps
  • Stretching

The workout felt great, and I’m down close to a pound since my last weigh in. I’m very pleased to see the scale going down, but since I gained weight in the past week or 2, it’s really getting my weight back down to my normal weight.

I’ll take it though!

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Food Noise: We Need to Talk

  1. Amanda says:

    I’ve been known to eat full bags of Popchips in one sitting. Not the individual sized ones, the full size ones. It’s pretty bad.

  2. alaine66 says:

    I get reallllly snacky during the afternoon around 2-4. This is usually a slow time at work so I like to snack to help pass the time, well that sounds worse now that I said it out loud lol Good job admitting your problem 🙂 I should do the same!

  3. runningonpb says:

    Chips in general are so easy to demolish the bag within minutes. Doritos and Sun Chips do that to me, it’s why I can’t buy them!

    You did just admit it! I really only eat when I’m hungry during the day but I get bored at night and think I deserve a “treat” for being so good. I need to start realizing that getting more fit is my treat/reward

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

