Sure Felt Like a Monday

The first day back to work after a long weekend is always tough. Add in a rainy and dreary day, and it makes it even worse. Today, all I have wanted to do since I looked out my window upon waking up was to stay in my warm bed and watch movies all day. Being an adult sucks. One day I aim to be able to work from the comforts of my own home and not have to battle with my gnarly easy 15 minute commute, or walk through the rain and snow. Not to mention I wouldn’t have to climb 72 stairs and be sweating by the time to get to my office.

During yesterday afternoon/evening’s run, for the first time ever, I had to use my emergency phone call. At the 3.85 mark my stomach instantly flipped in roughly 20 circles and I felt the sudden need to throw up. Part of me wanted to finish my 4 mile run, but I knew I had an additional hill I had to encounter. I made the call, got picked up, and stubbornly asked to be dropped off at the top of my street, a mere .15 miles from my house. You bet I was getting to my 4 miles, one way or another.

After my run, I felt nauseous all night. I had what felt like the stomach bug, but every now in then when I push myself in the heat, I get stomach aches for roughly an hour after my workout is finished. I thought this was the case but it wasn’t, and I ended up being sick for the following 6 hours.

Luckily today I woke up feeling like my normal self and tackled a 3.5 mile run, followed up with several core workouts.

Morning Workout

  • 3.5 mile run
  • 15 stair push-ups
  • 50 crunches and 50 side-to-side crunches
  • 25 reverse crunches
  • 1 minute plank
  • 2 sets of 13 standing side crunches with 8 lb. dumbbells
  • Stretching

Work dragged and dragged, not to mention Internet issues, hence the 5:35am-5:25pm wrap up post. My cravings have been really off today. I made a protein shake for breakfast but it tasted too gritty and too sweet so I nixed it halfway through and ate the juiciest Fuji apple ever.  Around noon, I opted for banana bread oatmeal before attacking an engineers’ resume.

It felt so good to be back in my weekday workout routines. Being away from my gym all weekend I was beyond ready to have the privilege to workout on my lunch.

My workout band has been through the trenches, and it was barely holding my cord so I rigged it, which came apart after my workout. Looks like I have to add another item to my list of things to buy.

Lunchtime Workout

  • 1.5 mile run
  • 5 minutes rowing, level 4
  • 2 sets of 25 medicine ball sit-ups
  • 20 side-to-side medicine ball sit-ups
  • 13 lumberjack squats and lumberjack chops with medicine ball, each side (totaling 52 reps)
  • 8 minutes on the machine that still remains a mystery to me
  • Stretching

I OWNED that workout and had the walk of shame back to my office with a really nasty sweaty tank. I’d say it was embarrassing but I decided to take pride in being active.

I had the option of taking spinning or boot camp tonight, but you know what, it’s still raining out, and I decided that plopping my ass on my couch and seeing what all the hype of Kelly Ripa’s new co-host is all about.

I got my workouts in today so I’m allowed to be a fat ass tonight.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

