Day 1: BBQ at the Big Wig’s

This weekend was crazy, so I’ll break the posts down by each day since I’d produce a novel if I combined the entire weekend into one blog post.

Saturday

Friday night I decided to hit the sheets early to get rest and feel better for my weekend visiting my brother, Ryan, and his girlfriend, Chelsey in Harrisburg, PA.

Saturday I woke up at 5 am, ran a quick 2.1 miles, busted out a few push-ups and planks, hit the shower, packed my car up and hit the road by 6:15. 8 hours driving through the city and country was NOT fun. I arrived around 1:30, had a few slices of turkey while catching up with Ry and Chels, and went for a quick 1.6 mile run at the river a block from their apartment.

Buggy Route in downtown Harrisburg, PA

After my run, we all showered and piled into Ry’s car and headed to a work BBQ he was invited to. Let me break it down for you. Ry works at Hershey, and Tom, the V.P of Sales at Hershey, invited him to his “Crab Fest,” that was attended by Tom’s close co-workers and their families. Tom is 4 levels above Ry, or as he told me, “He’s my boss’ boss’ boss.” Uhhh, basically Tom is BIG, and his home was even bigger.

The Hershey House

Beautiful Pool.. and Ry Stuffing Face

 

Chels and I had to be on our best behavior and schmooze with the Hershey guys, and Chels actually had to bite her tongue when the guy who my brother will be interviewing with for a promotion, made inappropriate comments during the corn hole. The things you do for the one you love.

A Lil’ Corn Hole

The “Crab Fest” was more fun than I was expecting. Ry said we really only had to stay for 2 hours and then we could bounce but we all had such a great afternoon and evening talking, eating, and playing corn hole that we stayed for over 4 hours.

Got Crabs?

I failed at cracking the crabs and getting sufficient meat, so I opted for Adam’s (see man in above picture behind Ryan) pulled pork, an amazing strawberry salad, and watermelon and grapes. Perfect dinner!

Perfect Summer Dinner

When we arrived home, we were all pretty wiped so we retreated to the living room and watched an extremely creepy episode of CSI and cuddling with their new cat, Henry… aka Henry Houdini Simba Rink Lewis.

Nice to Meet You Guys! I’m a Punk 🙂

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Day 1: BBQ at the Big Wig’s

  1. […] Ryan and Chelsey several times at THEIR new home in Harrisburg, […]

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

