Wild Weekend

This weekend was a wild one, as my cousin and I raged with her Bubchi up at her beach house.

First, let’s skip to Friday night. My boss let the marketing girls leave early on Friday, which thrilled me since Ryan and Chelsey were waiting at home. Once home, the three of us hung outside talking about life, work and everything in between while Ryan hit golf balls around the yard and came an inch within hitting me in the face. Thanks bro, love you too!

Ryan, who works for Hershey chocolate, brought home dark chocolate covered acai berries and goji raspberries, to give us a taste of a new brand Hershey just acquired. I’ve always wanted to try both goji and acai berries, so I was hyperventilating when I saw the two bags sitting on the counter.

These bags didn’t last too long

I wasn’t even hungry but dug right in. Definitely spoiled dinner, but it was well worth it. That night, we hung out with my parents, watched a little TV, per my request we watched AC360 so I could fulfill my addiction to the Empire State Building shooting and Jeffrey Johnson. What an awful, awful tragedy, for the victims and for Jeffrey for having to feel the way he did for so long. Most people only feel bad for the victims, but how about a little compassion for Johnson. Yes, I know he went crazy and murdered a man, but can you imagine the thoughts and feelings he had to suffer through? I’m a big CSI fanatic, so cases like this draw me in. I spent a majority of the weekend on my phone just to try to find out the latest information.

Saturday morning I couldn’t sleep, and I was wide awake by 6:30 am… yes on a Saturday, ughhh! I decided to lace up my running shoes and went for a great 4.15 mile run before showering and getting ready to head up to my cousins. Around 10, my cousin, Nikki, my Aunt Mare, and myself drove to a protein shake bar in their city that is recently new. Since I didn’t realize how nutritious the smoothies were, I had a shake on my way to their house, but stole a few sips of their shakes and fell in love! I’m actually heading there tomorrow night to meet with one of the owners to talk about their business plan and discuss how I can get into the franchise and options I have, as they are looking to expand closer to my area. I’m so excited!

After spending about an hour longer than we expected at the shake bar, we dropped Aunt Mare off and headed up to York Beach, Maine, where we were heading to take care of Nikki’s Bubchi, who is old and needs as much help as she can get. Usually Nikki’s Aunt’s, Uncles and parents are at the beach on the weekend, but no one was able to head up. Nikki’s family dog, Kayla, a 13 year old Golden, had a stroke early this week and is house bound, so her parents had to stay home. Our family sticks together through thick and thin, so when Nikki asked me if I’d go up with her, I knew I couldn’t turn it down.

Once we arrived, we spent a little time with the Bubs and then wandered down to the beach to read and get a little sun.

The road we walk down to get to the beach ❤

After burning the soles of my feet, and crawling back to the house, we showered and went out for dinner. Nikki ordered a hell of a seafood meal, including a salad, chowder, lobster, mussels and fries, while I ordered a salad with grilled chicken and the Bubs ordered breaded baked cod.

Just a PART of our dinner

We were all satisfied and nearly in a coma by the time we made it home for the end of the Red Sox game. By 9:45 Nikki and I were in bed and fast asleep. What losers!

Sunday morning we woke up and tried to drag our tired bodies out of bed for a run. We both went our separate ways on our run and by the time we got back to the house, the Bubs was with her daughter-in law, chatting it up, while Nikki stretched on the floor. Nikki ran for 2 and I went for 2.8, and felt like death. We showered, ate breakfast on the porch with the Bubs, and went to the beach for 2 hours with Nikki and Tricia (Nikki’s aunt).

Nikko at the end of our beach day

After eating lunch on the beach, we wandered back to the house to spend time for the Bubs on the deck.

Feels like Vermont up here

It took us a lot longer to leave, as we had to make sure Bubs was all set for the week, grabbed her bills, garbage and everything else we could do since no one will be back to help her until Wednesday.

I said I wanted to be on the road by 2, since I had things to do back in town, but we got a late start due to the chores we had to help with, and hit traffic on the back roads home and didn’t get back until 5:30 pm. Saturday morning I was struck with car sickness and was never able to shake the feeling all day yesterday, last night and all day today, so the car ride home was awful, and by the time I was home, I wanted to die.

Is it normal to have the car sickness feeling for over 36 hours? I haven’t had a fever, chills or anything so I really don’t think it’s the bug, plus I never get car sick, so I’m not sure what happened.

I’m exhausted and almost finished with laundry, and am SO excited to crawl into my bed tonight. It was a long and tiring weekend, but it felt so good to put others first and help those who need it.

Hope you all had a great weekend too… without getting car sick!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Single and Swiping

In the online dating world, Tinder is considered especially heinous. In Boston, the hopeful females who swipe through these profiles are members of an elite squad known as "Single and Swiping". These are their stories.

Running on Peanut Butter

Fueling Both Addictions

Everyday Sarah Jane

*Having fun and cooking delicious food for your everyday life.*

friendswithkip

A bit about Fun, Life, and a dude name Kip.....

Sinful Nutrition

Where every veggie has a dark side.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Muffin Topless

A life dedicated to health, fitness & happiness

